Why “Year of German” and the New Blog?

In November 2015, I started learning German using Duolingo. In early 2016, I worked my way through the Pimsleur CDs on my daily commute to and from work. In 2017, I’m not sure what I’ll do yet, learning-wise. I do know I need to scale it up, make a plan and hold myself accountable.

This blog is a great opportunity to do all of that.

German is a hard language. I’m proud of the progress I’ve made over the past year, but I have a long way to go to master the language.

On one hand, the journey is the beauty of language learning. On the other hand, I realize I must put in the work with daily study and (gasp) a language partner who can pull me out of my comfort zone and get me interacting with the language on a deeper level.

I went to a digital marketing conference in Dallas last week. Seth Godin was one of the keynote speakers. A tip he gave was, “Blog every day. Even if no one reads it.” At the same conference, a book by Gary Vaynerchuck was given out. Man, talk about a guy who doesn’t settle. The personalities of these two couldn’t be more different, but their passion for effective communication – and life in general – is overwhelmingly similar…and contagious.

We still have a couple of weeks left of 2016. Now is both a time to reflect and a time to plan ahead, both a time to assess the prior year’s passions and hobbies and a time to decide if those things still provide the same level of personal enjoyment and fulfillment.

In 2017, I’m committed to excellence when it comes to language learning. Of course, my family and career come first. But third to those priorities will be closing the fluency gap. The challenge is on!

Leave a Reply

