My Son’s First Semester at German Preschool: A Success!

Yesterday at 5 p.m., I picked up my son and breathed a sigh of relief. His first semester at his German preschool was over, and it was a success.

I grew up in a household where my mom was fortunate to not have to work outside the home. She stayed home as a homemaker and took care of my siblings and me. It was a great arrangement, and I’m thankful that the cards fell that way for our family.

For my husband and me, things are a little different. We both have to work, and I love working anyway. It’s healthier for me to not be a homemaker, and it’s also good for my son because he gets opportunities – like a bilingual education and socialization – that I couldn’t give him on my own. The only downside? The constant sickness. But I’m hoping that my little guy’s immune system will keep getting stronger and stronger.

I’m so proud of my son. He’s come a long way from those first few tearful weeks when he started his new school. Now, his teachers say he’s talking in complete German sentences, and morning drop-offs aren’t nearly as bad anymore.

Enrolling my toddler in a bilingual immersion program has been one of the best decisions for our family. I encourage anyone looking for daycare or preschool programs to consider a bilingual preschool.

One thought on “My Son’s First Semester at German Preschool: A Success!

  1. This is one of the reasons that I plan to move back to Germany. I want to raise my kids in a multilingual household with an amazing experience of living in another country like I did. That isn’t to say I couldn’t raise them multilingually here. But I mean who can resist Germany trash reality TV with that ridiculous re-enactments hahaha just kidding.

    This is definitely something I want to do with my future kids and I’m trying to do with my niece. She’s 7 so I figure a Saturday language school is best or I will have to teach her myself on the weekends.

    xoxo,

    Shahidah
    http://www.blackgirlslearnlanguages.co

    Like

Leave a Reply

