What I’m Pondering Today: Parenting Lessons from Other Countries and Cultures

I’m a book reader, but I purposely don’t read parenting books. My child is so atypical that I’ve been turned off by the one-size-fits-all methodology I’ve found in most parenting how-to guides.

That being said, I’m intrigued by parenting styles of other countries and cultures outside the United States. Maybe that’s because I think that contemporary American parenting leaves something to be desired.

From what I’ve read here, here and here and observed from the caregivers at my child’s German immersion school, German parenting norms align closely with my own philosophies on raising kids:

  • Emphasis on being outside and playing
  • Deemphasis on traditional classroom education, especially in the early years
  • Prioritization of values like responsibility, self reliance and independence
  • Support of green and natural parenting

(I knew I belonged in Germany!)

I have not read any of the books below but am curious to know if my blog readers have. Please leave a comment and let me know! If you have others to suggest, feel free to share those as well.

Bringing Up Bébé: One American Mother Discovers the Wisdom of French Parenting & Bébé Day by Day: 100 Keys to French Parenting

French Kids Eat Everything: How Our Family Moved to France, Cured Picky Eating, Banned Snacking, and Discovered 10 Simple Rules for Raising Happy, Healthy Eaters

French Twist: An American Mom’s Experiment in Parisian Parenting

The Danish Way of Parenting: What the Happiest People in the World Know About Raising Confident, Capable Kids

Parenting Without Borders: Surprising Lessons Parents Around the World Can Teach Us

How Eskimos Keep Their Babies Warm: And Other Adventures in Parenting (from Argentina to Tanzania and everywhere in between)

Leave a Reply

