Readlang: My New Favorite Plugin for Language Learning on My Computer

Lately I’ve been trying to take a more holistic approach to learning German. I’m convinced that the grammar and vocabulary will stick with me longer – and be easier to learn in the first place – if my language learning intersects with my other hobbies and interests.

Enter my career. In my role as advertising and marketing manager, I manage my company’s social media accounts, among many other responsibilities. I’m always trying to stay on the cutting edge of the ever-evolving world of social media, so I read a lot of blogs to keep up with the latest trends and updates.

This past weekend I made a point to check out some social media blogs in German. As I was browsing them, I realized I could only understand about every three or four words on my own. The rest I was looking up in my dictionary.

Tonight, however, as I was working on my book (yes, that’s another New Year’s resolution of mine), I remembered having downloaded a Chrome plugin that translates words inline with the text. I usually use Safari on my Mac, but this time I opened Chrome and found Readlang waiting for me.

Then I went to the latest post on AllFacebook.de, which I actually need to understand because the content is very relevant to something I need to do at work tomorrow…and voila! Thanks to Readlang, I can easily read the post and learn new vocabulary at the same time.

Leave a Reply

