Buckling Down and Learning the Language

You know what’s fun, easy and addictive? Reading articles, watching videos, and listening to podcasts about language learning but not actually buckling down and learning the language. I’m guilty of this.

Studying about the language learning process is enthralling. Learning new memory techniques, study methods, and shortcuts can entertain me for hours. Those are hours, though, that I’m not putting toward my end goal of learning German.

This weekend, I resolve to keep my language research (learning about language learning) and my language study (learning the German language) at about 50/50. The former keeps me motivated and inspired. The latter keeps me progressing forward in being able to communicate in my target language. Maybe another research-t0-study ratio works better for you, and that’s OK. Being self aware and staying on track toward your specific language learning goals is key.

Hab ein schönes Wochenende. Und viel Glück in your language journey!

Leave a Reply

