Where I Am in My Journey to Learn German: March 2017

If you’ve read some of my other blog posts, you’ll know that I started learning German at the end of 2015 through Duolingo. In 2016, I went through the Pimsleur series. Today, I do a little bit of this and a little bit of that to keep progressing in my journey to learn German. I haven’t taken a test in a while, but I’m likely at A2 level, which means I’m no longer a beginner but am approaching intermediate level.

I know 100+ verbs and a few hundred more nouns, adjectives and adverbs. I understand the basics of German grammar. I can string together a simple sentence although I may leave out a word here and there due to some oddities in the German language, such as separable verbs, reflexive pronouns that need to accompany certain verbs, and so forth.

My Instagram language is set to German, so I’m always tapping the “Übersetzung Anzeigen”option to see if I can correctly translate back and forth between German and English Instagram captions. I assume Instagram uses something similar to Google Translate, so I’m obviously not naive to the fact that the translations probably aren’t 100% accurate. Frankly, I don’t care, though. I am constantly learning new vocabulary through my favorite social media channel, so I’ll take a less-than-perfect translation.

How would I hold up in a conversation with a native speaker? Nicht so gut, I’d guess. Maybe someday soon I’ll actually do some Skype lessons or go to a German Meetup in Dallas. For now, I’m proud of the progress I’m making for someone as busy as I am. Learning German is my favorite hobby, and I’m basking in the journey of learning it rather than fretting about not being more fluent yet.

One thought on “Where I Am in My Journey to Learn German: March 2017

  1. Wow! Congrats on completing your language tree! It’s so interesting to read your blog and the logical, structured approach you have to learning a language and making it work with your other commitments! Have read almost all of your articles.

    I am in the lucky position of being able to move to Germany in order to improve my language skills and am currently doing an internship in a language school and taking language classes in Berlin. The language school I work at also offers Summer courses which although may be difficult for your with your son, I’d definitely recommend it! Here’s the link to the summer courses: https://www.sprachenatelier-berlin.de/en/article/982.german-summer-courses-berlin-germany.html

    Even if it’s not suitable for you, it may be useful for one of your readers.

    Thanks for the awesome blog, will definitely be checking in again X

    Like

Leave a Reply

