German Restaurant Review: Walburg German Restaurant in Walburg, TX

We just got back to Dallas from an incredible weekend in Austin. We went for a wedding and ended up making the weekend so much more. One of my favorite parts was a visit to the Texas State Capitol last night. Have I ever been before yesterday? I honestly can’t remember, but my guess would be no. So it was a nice experience to visit a building with so much significance and history.

We couldn’t visit Austin without going to a German restaurant, but we also didn’t want to drive too far south or west either. Yesterday I found through Google a German restaurant in Walburg, Texas, about 30 minutes north of Austin — and conveniently on the way to Dallas.

Walburg German Restaurant was delicious. The only problem is that I wasn’t all that hungry. My stomach was feeling a bit off from lunch yesterday, so I felt like I couldn’t fully enjoy today’s lunch at Walburg German Restaurant (although if you sat across from me, I’m sure you’d think nothing was wrong with me).

I ordered the Reuben sandwich and red cabbage for $7.99, and it was a legit-sized Reuben sandwich. My husband and son both ate off the buffet, which was $14.99 for an adult and free for kids under three years old. The buffet had many authentic German options, including wienerschnitzel, sauerkraut, bratwurst, German potato salad and more. The three of us shared cheesecake for dessert. We try to limit sugar for my son, but I will say, that child can sure put away some cheesecake.

Walburg German Restaurant also has a biergarten and live music on Friday and Saturday nights. The restaurant is closed Mondays and Tuesdays, which worked out perfectΒ for us since we were coming through the area today, a Sunday.

The staff and service were great, and I have only good things to say about today’s experience at the restaurant. Whether you live in Austin, are visiting, or are just passing through, make Walburg German Restaurant one of your food stops. You won’t be disappointed!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Willkommen!

20170528_123609

Sunday Lunch Buffet

20170528_124603

You can’t have lunch with a toddler without cars also being present.

20170528_125306

Reuben Sandwich, Red Cabbage and Pickles. Lecker!

Leave a Reply

